h1

Good bye to going Out

November 6, 2011

Prior to having kids my weekends were generally spent playing on the XBOX, eating and watching films; I liked that a lot. After the kids were born that changed as I wanted to not raise them to be couch potatoes. πŸ˜€

From March 17th to November 6th we tend to go out almost every weekend and after that it’s time for me to work on other projects. So, why those dates? Well.. those are the dates that the Merlin owned Theme Parks in the UK are open and by Theme Β parks I really mean… Legoland Windsor.

Now that’s passed it’s time for me to finish restoring our bathroom, finish making the children’s DVDs with all the stuff I’ve recorded on the camcorder over the last 5 years, play the keyboard and actually do some more experimental photography. BUT first.. I need to sort out the 2000 photos I’ve taken with my pocket camera over the past year 😦 Imported to lightroom last night, now I need to tag, clear the rubbish out, ‘enhance’… I really should have done it throughout the year… oh well, better get that done so I can do the annual photobooks. πŸ™‚

Before you go, if you like stop motion photography (or jellybeans) check out this incredible video on Taylor’s blog, ‘What’s Normality anyways’

Have a great week πŸ™‚

19 comments

  1. Thats a great photo. I don’t envy you your Lightroom session but if the rest of your shots are like this there won’t be too many thrown away


  2. Oh, I feel your pain – I have far too many photos to sort through too! Try and see it as an opportunity to relive the good moments of the last year.


  3. That’s a lot of Black-eyed Susans…nice shot Nigel.


  4. Bet you find some great photos among those 2000 images. πŸ™‚ Love all those Black Eyed Susans. What a sight I bet in person too.


  5. 2000 to go through? I do not envy you the task as I am cringing at the 153 that I have narrowed down from the 338 taken yesterday.
    I checked out the link to the jellybean video and LOVED it!
    AND! I love the brown eyed Susans; what a lovely golden field! I think as winter progresses I shall come to visit this photo to stay warm.


  6. This photo warms my heart. ^ . ^


  7. 2000 shots sounds like a lot of work…
    but with images like this it’s got to be fun, too
    (and worth all the effort)!
    πŸ™‚


  8. Beautiful sunny image πŸ™‚ All the best with your sorting! Winter is probably the best time for that activity.


  9. I read a post yesterday about an app for iPad that’s used for sorting. I’m sorry but I can’t find that post today. I love the “jelly bean”-video!


    • As well as the whole post, sorry for leaving that out in my original comment!


  10. Gorgeous depth in this image of the rudbeckia.

    2,000 images will certainly keep you busy this winter season!


  11. Wow…2000 images is quite the project. Abundance, I think, is both the blessing and the curse of digital photography. Lovely photo and cool video! Thanks for sharing.


  12. You are so serious about organizing your photos, wow. I’ve never done tagging in my life, I mean in Lightroom.
    Is the photo above yours? I’m sorry if it’s a stupid question but, well, who knows, maybe you just wanted to illustrate your thoughts with someone else’s photo πŸ™‚
    It’s very neat, beautiful like summer.


    • Hi Alexandra. Yes, the photo is mine and I should have mentioned the link.. it was taken in Legoland. Although they’re a theme park it’s one of the best places to visit for beautiful displays of flowers all year round πŸ™‚


  13. Going out is overrated anyway. Anything worth seeing would make an effort to come and stand in front of your couch.


    • πŸ˜€


  14. Nice capture. It brightened my mood just looking at it. Thanks! And have fun with Lightroom. πŸ™‚


  15. Black-eyed Susans are so darn friendly, aren’t they? This shot makes me smile (not the bathroom renovation part, though). =>


  16. sounds like you got your hands full there … as well as your hard-drive it would seem!! … I feel your pain about the sorting & editing etc … I’ve only got 6 months’ worth to catch up, but I feel like it’s mission impossible lol …



Leave a Reply

