h1

Cup of Bokeh

September 11, 2011

This was shot when I was on holiday with a lot of help from my friends, Steve and Ammar. Fairy lights were used to create the bokeh and the trick to this shot is setting it up so that the lights are blurred enough to create the bokeh but the mug is in focus. Due to the fact that I don’t have a wireless trigger for my flash, the original shots were created by me having my remote trigger stretched in one hand, and the flash in my other hand. I’d press the flash and camera trigger at the same time. Unfortunately, this didn’t always result in me getting a photograph. 🙂 In the end we lit this from above with a torch and the photograph was taken. I think that night we ended up taking about 100 shots of this, we’d done this same thing a couple of days before but the mug we used was pretty bland. Anyway, I like the final photograph, except for the fact that the bottom right is too dark and thus looks like it’s cut out. Still, who cares 🙂

Some other photographs from this shoot next week.

Have a great week 🙂

14 comments

  1. Very cool effect, Nigel…
    well worth all the effort (this one really sparkles)!
    🙂


  2. What a wonderful, creative image! I love it.


  3. Very nicely executed shot. The bokeh colors are fantastic “rising” from the cup.


  4. Gorgeous shot! So simple and effective! I’ll be returning to look at some of your other work!


  5. Cool picture!


  6. Very creative Nigel.


  7. I wonder what type of drink gives off such vibrant steam…


  8. Excellent work Nigel. Creative, clever.


  9. Great work! Thanks for sharing!


  10. Thanks for all the comments… just to say, the blackness was just how dark it was where we were. No streetlights to bother us 🙂


  11. It does look like you have been having way too much fun! Cool shot 🙂


  12. Very creative. Gives me ideas of things to try 🙂


  13. Gotta love good bokeh….cool idea


  14. Wow…love this. Cool concept, well executed. Definitely one of my favorites of yours.



Leave a Reply

