h1

Painting with Light

September 4, 2011

One of my favourite things about the recent trip away was the lack of street and other invasive light. This presented me with the ability to paint with light (as well as light paint) :). My friend, Steve had kindly brought along a 5 million candle power torch to ‘paint’ with. For the shot below, the camera was left on a long exposure of around 10 seconds (I think), which allowed it to soak in the beautiful blue twilight sky. The grass was black and painted using the torch. For the second photo, I painted the foreground trees with the torch and left the rest as they were.

Have a great week 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

12 comments

  1. Effective


  2. These are great. I love seeing night from a different perspective through these bold colors.


  3. What fun! I really like the first image. Very nice.


  4. I love what you’ve done with the bottom image.


  5. Looks like a log of fun, Nigel… and some very nice results!
    (That ‘hallo’ around the moon is too cool)!
    🙂


  6. I love experimenting with things like this. Looks fun!


  7. Simple, but beautiful all these pictures


  8. Interesting experiment. I especially like the second photo — the different layers of contrast and details… beautiful! 🙂


  9. The colors in the first shot are very dramatic for an evening shot. Quite lovely.


  10. Looks like you had a good time with lighting experiment Nigel. Nice shots.


  11. Lovely shots! I too enjoy a little light painting but haven’t done nearly as much as I would have liked over the past few years. You’ve inspired me for a post… thanks!


  12. […] was checking out a blog entry by greysqrl called, coincidentally, “Painting with Light” and it reminded me of the fun and feeling of satisfaction one gets from “light […]



Leave a Reply

