h1

Wildflowers

August 21, 2011

On my drive to work for the past few months I’ve noticed this small patch of beautiful flowers  within the gates of a private property. A few months later a sign went up indicating that this property is in fact a business. So, a couple of weeks back I drove in and was confronted but a huge field of wild-flowers, not just a small patch. I left and came back the following day before work with all three of my lenses. I think I spent about an hour there taking a few hundred photographs, the following three are some of my favourites. This is, without a doubt, the most beautiful field of flowers I’ve ever come across, a stunning place. My morning of photography was unfortunately interrupted by the security guard, I hadn’t really thought about the fact that photography on the premises my not be allowed, so, when he asked why I was there etc… I was honest with him and showed him the photos, and thankfully he was fine with this and allowed me to take more photos before I left. 🙂

Have a great week 🙂

17 comments

  1. Wow! Stunning photos Nigel! Well done on finding this eclectic mix of wildflowers. As Delboy used to say: “He who dares, wins”! 🙂


    • “Mange tout, Mange tout” 😉


  2. Gorgeous!


  3. These are beautiful. I really like the second one in particular as it shows off the colours a bit more. Great shots 🙂


  4. Nice photos !


  5. Really like the assortment of colors.


  6. Very nice! And it’s good to hear a story about a reasonable security guard for a change.


  7. Absolutely beautiful Nigel! great find.


  8. Wonderful shots, Nigel! Well worth the trip back (and the security scare)! 🙂


  9. Fabulous array of colors. Blue flowers are not that common so they make these images not just beautiful, but outstanding.


  10. Beautiful, bright and brilliant! Nice one, Nigel 🙂


  11. Beautiful! All 3 shots are great


  12. It was worth the trespassing! Nice shots, Nigel. I’m glad the security guard didn’t chase you away.


  13. What a beautiful discovery. Great capture Nigel!


  14. Spectacular colors! They are all lovely images although I think the first may be my favorite. Lucky you that the security guard was so nice. I crossed paths once with one who did his best to be intimidating and was kind of a bully! 🙂


  15. I’m glad to see you promoting wildflowers—in fact I’m glad to see that you have so many of them thriving. Here in Texas we’re in a severe drought, and colorful floral displays like the one you photographed are in the realm of memory for the time being.

    Steve Schwartzman
    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com


  16. Wow, great photos & such beautiful colours in the wildflowers



Leave a Reply

