h1

Poppies (finally)

August 7, 2011

For about a year or two, I’ve been searching for a poppy field. I’ve seen many beautiful photos of poppy fields and I wanted to capture one for myself. Every time I pass by one of these beauties, it’s always on the side of the motorway where I can’t easily pull over and get out to take photos. Frustrating. Anyhow, last weekend whilst driving I passed by one due to my navigator taking me on a slightly different route than usual. I quickly stopped, reversed and pulled over in what I’m sure was a private field. There was no chance I was going to miss the opportunity and so, whilst my kids and wife patiently waited in the car, I snapped, and snapped and snapped and snapped and snapped. Now, the poppies where exactly at their best, looking a little ‘manky’ but, I didn’t care, it was a bunch of poppies together.

Next year will be different, I bought many poppy seeds from the garden centre this weekend… I’ll grow my own field next year… HA HA HA… πŸ˜€

Have a great week πŸ™‚

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

18 comments

  1. Beautiful photos! Love the second one in particular. I saw my first poppy field this year and it was lovely so I understand the need to get the photos! πŸ™‚


  2. Yay! Well done Nigel – I knew you’d find them. These photos are lovely. I like them all, but especially the second one with the diagonal.


  3. It was definitely worth the wait–These are beautiful!


  4. very pretty!


  5. Gorgeous poppy images. Glad you stopped Nigel!


  6. Isn’t it amazing how something can grow to be so beautiful? I also wanted to comment on the wonders of wandering. You must be awfully glad that your navigator took you on a slightly different route than normal! Once I wandered with a friend of mine throughout Nova Scotia, and we ended up in Lunenburg, which is an amazing seaside town glowing with heritage and history, as Nova Scotia was a huge shipbuilding center for the British before Canada was Canada. Every building was painted a different bright colour and there were tons of ships and restaurants and lively characters. πŸ™‚


    • Maybe the best things are found by accident. πŸ™‚


  7. So nicely done, Nigel! I’ve always been very fond of poppies. My parents have a flower garden where they seem to do very well. It’s interesting, they seem to thrive outdoors (even in fairly harsh / windy weather), but if they’re picked and brought indoors they seem to fall apart almost instantly. Funny how something so delicate can also be so hearty. Gorgeous images, sir! πŸ™‚


    • Sir! I like that… πŸ™‚


  8. Nice capture Nigel. It’s a good thing your navigator took you on a different path. πŸ˜‰


  9. I’ve driven past “private” fields of flowers before too and have not been able to resist the urge to stop. So, I can appreciate this! You took some beautiful photos!


  10. Beautiful flowers….


  11. Lovely images Nigel! πŸ™‚


  12. all lovely shots Nigel!


  13. I’m a big fan of the third one. Great DOF in these. I need to find myself a sunflower field out here in Naples to shoot. Beautiful shots.


  14. Isn’t it great what you find when you take a different path? Well done seizing the moment!


  15. Beautiful poppies Nigel, well worth hunting for πŸ™‚ Is it too early to say that I’m looking forward to your poppies next year?!


    • Never too early πŸ˜€



Leave a Reply

