h1

Backlit Tulip

March 7, 2011

This photograph is the result of me experimenting with lighting. For Valentine’s Day I’d bought Michelle some flowers (of course!), and, the following weekend I decided to try to create an interesting photograph with the lovely tulips that were now beginning to open. I tried shining my trusty LED snakelight into the tulip to get the photo but that didn’t work well. I tried photographing the inside of the tulip, but that didn’t look great. After much playing about I placed the light behind the tulip, and placed a black card behind it. This seemed to work perfectly, at least, I think so. No photoshopping (or lightrooming as it is now) other than to clean up a couple of spots.

Have a great week…

18 comments

  1. The tulip looks almost luminous, like it’s glowing in the dark. beautiful.


  2. This is wonderful – as the poster above said, it’s luminous!


  3. Wow! Its so pretty! I really need to start learning about lighting.


  4. Stunning! Tulips are my absolute favorite flower.

    This is a work of art ๐Ÿ™‚


  5. Beautiful composition and light. Love this one.


  6. Love the lighting in this minimalistic shot. Wonderful glow on the stem and very nice composition too.


  7. First of all, I’m glad you recognized the importance of getting Michelle flowers on Valentine’s Day. Secondly, I love the lighting choice and how the flower is illuminated. Nice job!


  8. Great job of lighting the tulip Nigel (and of course, for getting Michelle some flowers). ๐Ÿ™‚


  9. I agree with the others – great composition and lighting.


  10. Nice use of light Nigel. Gorgeous capture of the tulip. The way it glows, it looks almost like a light bulb.


  11. Hi all, thanks for the great comments ๐Ÿ™‚


  12. Well done Nigel!!! I love this, sorry I got to it so late ๐Ÿ™‚


  13. Great composition! Really like the transparency on the stem (almost a glow) the back lighting.


  14. Oh wow Nigel – I love this! Not only is the bloom illuminated but I love the way the light extends down into the stem. Just great. ๐Ÿ™‚


  15. This is absolutely beautiful. I can’t get over the colours and the lighting! It looks so flawless! bravo, bravo!


  16. A lovely, pleasing shot Nigel. Beautiful colour and very nicely lit.


  17. just gorgeous!!! i loove tulips ๐Ÿ™‚ *sigh* and you’ve made this one look so special!


  18. This is fantastic! I love the colours and the contrast with the black back-ground. Beautiful!



Leave a Reply

