h1

Tree Light Bokeh

January 3, 2011

Well, hello there. After spending the last two weeks at home, going back to work is going to be a real shock to the system… I decided to take a break from blogging over the last two weeks and just relax. Last year I started by posting photos I’d previously taken to help me get this blog up and running. After that I started following the Daily Shoots a bit, and tried to get 5 photos posted every week. This year I plan to post much less, probably around once a week. Instead I want to try and get better photos by spending time working on one idea and getting a better understanding of how to use photoshop and lightroom properly. Any tips for how I can improve my photos will, as always, be very welcome. Today was my first real day back with photography and, well, it wasn’t successful. I had an idea in my head that I wanted to work on, I spent around 3 hours at it, but, it just didn’t really come together 😦 So, after several shots which failed dismally, I was pleased to eventually get around 3 good shots later in the evening.

Here’s one that I like… it’s simple and the shot that you’ve seen done by everyone else already…. Tree light bokeh. I used my macro lens for this, purely because it allowed me to get more light in, than my other lenses, settings f2.8, ISO 100,Β 0.25 seconds.

All that’s left to say is… Happy New Year. πŸ™‚

 

9 comments

  1. Pretty πŸ˜€ You are such a perfectionist stop being so hard
    on yourself, the pics are gorgeous πŸ˜€


    • Thank you, and yes, I am a perfectionist πŸ˜‰ πŸ™‚ πŸ˜€


  2. Common or not, this is wonderfully executed! Happy New Year!


  3. Gorgeous bokeh lights. Wishing you much happiness in 2011!


  4. Lovely bokeh and perfect time to wish a colorful new year!


  5. Well I will say that I dig your copyright! Great bokeh too, love how they take you to the centre of the photo! πŸ˜€


  6. Love the bokeh shot Nigel!
    I tried some over the holidays, but I have yet to upload any πŸ™‚
    Happy New Year!!!


  7. Good shot Nigel and i figured out what it was and how you did it without reading your description….great colours…..
    i also love the photo of your children under the Christmas tree:D….
    our Christmas had been delayed with our children until Jan 8th because of the death of Penny’s Mum in Ottawa on the 26th…
    i posted some of the action a few days later…you may enjoy the turmoil….peter:)

    BTW i was not looking for sympathy….all is well with our family….Ruby was 86 years old.


  8. I haven’t seen a photo like this with the macro. Very nice display of color!



Leave a Reply

