h1

Falls

October 8, 2010

This shot, is the obligatory waterfall shot that all photographers must capture during the early stages of their photography life. Lovene (who some of you know, who doesn’t have a blog) 😦 took a great shot which I wanted to try to recreate. We all see the waterfall shot and wonder, how can I capture such smooth water, and then we eventually get it, store it, never bother to take that shot again and tick it of our list of ‘shots everyone must take.’ Christos came with me to Virigina Waters. A well named place as it was the first time that I used my tripod in public. It wasn’t too bad as Christos was geekier than me thanks to his bird watching special camera jacket. He taught me all about the correct aperture requirements to get the smooth waters. Then we walked around the park and cursed when we were half way around and realised that it was going to take another 90 min to get back out of the now pretty dark park. 😀

Have a great weekend…

12 comments

  1. Wow! I think that must have been a lovely place to be. It’s a very interesting waterfall. The black and white way you’ve taken this picture makes me think of chinese art – you know those awesome drawings that you see on scrolls of mystical places. That’s what it makes me think of. Nice one!


  2. Love the little “cave”, it adds a little “something” to the image for me!


  3. Nice shot- I like the silky feel on the water fall.


  4. Nicely done! Another way to capture a shot like this (particularly in daylight, and if you want to use a shallow aperture) is to use a neutral density filter and low ISO setting. I have an ND +4 that works well for such things, and I think (but don’t quote me on it) that there are +8 filters, too. A little pricey, and definitely a specialized-use item, but then again, when you do get that perfect opportunity to use one…


    • I’ll check it out. Thanks 🙂


  5. Very nice, love the contrast between the rocks and the water.


  6. This is excellent! The smooth waters really make it breathtaking


  7. Nice shot Nigel. I’m still in search of my own waterfall pic.


  8. Lovely shot – the water looks like veils. 🙂


  9. It’s very nice. What sort of apeture and length of exposure did you use?


  10. Beautiful shot! Love the creamy water. Did you use a tripod?


    • Hi. Yes. 🙂 In fact, it was the first time I used my tripod in a public place!



Leave a Reply

