h1

RainBall

August 19, 2010

Normally a magician doesn’t reveal his secrets. Well, I’m not a magician (but hey, that’d be awesome, to be the next David Blaine… although technically he’s an illusionist)… Anyway, I digress. This photo, I kind of like it. I think it turned out nicely. It was taken the weekend before last after visiting London Zoo. We went to the local park (Regent’s Park I presume) and it started to rain. Rather than run away, I sheltered under a tree and sent the kids out into the rain to play… ๐Ÿ™‚ They had fun. Anyway, some guy was playing football with his kid and the rain and the red ball, what a great combination. I got a quick shot with my zoom lens hence the blur. The original photo was actually taken in the day and it looks boring, gloomy and uninspiring. So, that’s the secret behind this photo, it’s quite post processed (unlike a lot of what I post). Basically, I upped the contrast and the saturation and pulled the gamma down to darken it, to give it that night feel and accent the rain and grass a bit more. I used freeware to do this, IrfanView. That’s Magic! Amazingly, it’s not a macro photo! WOW!

8 comments

  1. The rain drops make it look magical ๐Ÿ˜€


    • It’s magical in that my camera didn’t get ruined.. ๐Ÿ˜€ I was a little worried but thought, screw it… let’s get the photo ๐Ÿ™‚


  2. It looks like stars in the sky. ๐Ÿ™‚


  3. The original was so boring but a little photo shopping made it pretty ๐Ÿ™‚


  4. The thumb (can u actually call that a thumb) nail does the image no justice! Love the rain, looks…magical! Sounds like you guys had a great weekend. =)


    • Yeah, it was a good weekend. Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚


  5. Your use of the photo software to manipulate this image worked very well.


    • Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚



Leave a Reply

