h1

The Birds and the Bees (and the butterflies).

August 9, 2010

This weekend I was finally not under house arrest. Nobody has the chickenpox (well, nobody is infectious any more) and after being away studying for a week, my wife was back home so it was off out to enjoy the pleasant weather together. On the Saturday we went to London Zoo, perfect for a 4 year old and a 2 year old and on the Sunday we went to Blenheim Palace to visit their Butterfly Gardens and some of their play areas. Perfect weekend for playing with my macro lens. 🙂  I wanted to get a bit closer to the bees which would have allowed me to get them to fill the frame but they were flying about so quickly that there wasn’t any time. I have to say, I don’t have the patience to set up a tripod and focus on one flower until the bee sits there… not my sort of thing at all. So, all of these are hand held with no flash :D. The following photos of bees and butterflies were taken with my Canon 100 macro lens at Blenheim, and the bird photos with my Canon 55-250 lens at London Zoo.

8 comments

  1. Bee5 is stunning! Great job…one question…zoo…posts of bee’s? Where’s the man eating tiger or the man stomping elephant? Just giving ya a hard time! 😛


    • The man eating tiger got shot after eating the man. The elephant escaped before I could get a photo of it. :p


  2. These are just beautiful. The great thing about snapping shots of bees, is they can travel around the same flower for a while.

    I’m curious how close you had to be to this bee to get these shots. When I *finally* get a macro lens (hopefully in the near future!), I’ll be after similar shots. I just want to know what I’m in for.


    • I’m still surprised that you don’t have a macro lens, looking at some of your shots, they look like macro photos! The lens I have is the 100mm, that means that I can get as close as 10cm from it, and that’s generally the 1:1 point. I think I was probably a bit further back than that, maybe 20cm. The bees didn’t stay in one place for long so getting to 10cm and focusing was too difficult. I had to use manual focus as well, auto doesn’t work so well for bees and flowers when I’m that close, it seems to get confused I find. I’ve used a 60mm macro lens as well and I find the 100 to be a lot better, it gives me a bit more space to work with than the 60 does.


  3. I love the butterfly shot. I love the contrast and the eyes are so clear!


  4. Beautiful shots. What is the bird? Is it a jay or magpie or something entirely different? And was it an aviary bird or one just flying free in the park?


  5. Sadly it was an aviary bird, as far what it is… sadly (again) I’m not sure. 😦



Leave a Reply

