h1

Light Painting – Geometric

August 6, 2010

Well, Photoless Friday was a dumb idea so, that’s done. I recently did some more light painting. For this, I got a small maglite torch, tied it to a string and attached it to my lights. I then focussed the camera on it (set it to AI Servo mode), and hit the trigger with a 2 second delay. And then, I swung the light and let it play out over. This works quite nicely, but, I can’t get rid of tail. The tail occurs when the shutter shuts. I guess I could leave the shutter open even longer but, I’m sure that would create some other issues. Photoshopping it didn’t do a good job, so, it is as it is. ๐Ÿ™‚ ย I’m not going to tell you anything else about my settings, instead, I’m going to point you to Mike Pouliot’s Photography Blog, and, more specifically, this posting. Take a look at the comments where Mike gave me every detail required to perfect the technique. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks, Mike! I got some other shots from this session which I’ll post next week.

Well after about six weeks of chicken pox between me and the two boys, we’re all ready to finally go out to somewhere other than the supermarket. I hope the weather’s nice because, I want to be enjoying the sun! Have a great weekend. ย  :o)

14 comments

  1. “Photoless Friday was a dumb idea so, thatโ€™s done”. Yeah I get bright ideas like this all the time!

    You sound slightly ify about this image but I’m not seeing a problem at all with it. In fact, I think it’s great and I’m going over to that link to get the low-down. I like playing with stuff like this. ๐Ÿ™‚


    • This is my favourite of all that I took on that day but I’d like to work out how to get an invisible tail.


  2. Fun shot. Thanks for sharing the technique.
    Reminds me Spirograph, which I was really interested growing up as a kid.


    • Yes! Maybe that would have been a better name for it ๐Ÿ™‚


  3. I’m with both comments, Spirograph was fun as a kid and yes, I don’t see a problem with the “tail” either. Have you tried to PS out the tiny little light at the end of the tail? The one that spills over? Just a thought if you still issues… ๐Ÿ˜›
    Great job and have fun this weekend!!

    …d


    • I tried with PS but it wasn’t working for me. Still, overall it’s pretty cool ๐Ÿ™‚


  4. Nicely done! Thanks for the shout out ๐Ÿ™‚


    • No worries, credit where credit’s due! Thanks for helping me!


  5. That’s come out great… What a cool idea… I see what you mean about the tail, but it doesn’t detract from the shot.. I think the only way to eliminate it though would be through photoshop though..


    • Thanks and thanks for visiting ๐Ÿ™‚


  6. Very interesting shot. Makes me want to get out my compass set. ๐Ÿ™‚


    • Go on, do it and then take a photograph. ๐Ÿ˜€


  7. I didn’t even notice the tail until I red that bit of your post. I agree with the comments above, it doesn’t detract from the shot at all. It has to stop somewhere, right? I wonder if dimming the light just before the shutter snaps closed would give you a nice fading effect?


    • Because I’m using a torch, it’s not possible to dim it ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I wonder if there’s a remote control torch that can be dimmed. That’d be cool!



Leave a Reply

