h1

Goodbye

August 5, 2010

Okay, firstly, I’m not feeling suicidal, I have no intention to kill myself (or anyone else) and this photograph isn’t intended to mock anyone that does have such feelings. It’s merely meant to be a piece of art. I got the idea for this after seeing a photograph at SeeOneSoul Photography. I liked Tina’s idea and wanted to replicate it. I tried to think of what to write, I felt the writing in the photo needed to be strong, and I went with what you see on the page. For me, this is very different to the normal photography I do and possibly the first time I really used RAW. RAW really made a real difference to the lighting of the photo. The amount of cleaning up in this photo was amazing, all the tiny dust particles etc… Anyway, hope you like it.

6 comments

  1. Nice disclaimer! πŸ™‚ I think there might have been more of an impact if there were a little more bokeh, just a tad to perhaps blur the pills and the final message, just a thought. Either way, good job!

    RAW, ahhh yes, RAW can be amazing can’t it!

    …d


  2. Hi. Thanks for the feedback; it’s always great to get another perspective on things πŸ™‚


  3. I’m not sure why RAW would highlight dust spots (can anyone chime in on this) – the aperture you selected probably had the biggest impact and the fact that you have a light background (I tend to shoot a white paper to look for dust spots). Anyway Nigel, I didn’t give this any points in the July compo but it’s a decent execution of an idea but for me there was no emotional impact – I felt disjointed from the image idea and for this kind of subject I think you have to drag people in. Maybe it’s too clean, too clinical but somehow there’s an disconnect. I tried something similar (hand over the bath tub, pool of blood below…) but again I didn’t think it did the job well.


    • Hey Brhum, thanks for the feedback. πŸ™‚


  4. I love the lighting you got in this!! πŸ™‚
    Tickled pink you found a little inspiration in my pages πŸ˜‰ and even more tickled that you’re still entirely full of the joys of life!! πŸ™‚
    Internet connection is real slow here today, so, sorry, I won’t type much more for now πŸ˜‰
    chat soon
    B


    • Hi. Glad you like it; thanks for the inspiration πŸ™‚



Leave a Reply

