h1

Allsorts

July 21, 2010

I can’t stand Liquorice Allsorts, they taste horrible; however, the blue one looks quite nice. 🙂 To create this photo, I got a black marble kitchen chopping board, piled up the allsorts and placed a black (or white) card behind them.  These photos were taken with the 60mm Canon macro lens. The white card image has a grey looking base, this was down to the flash. I think for the black image, I left the light on and did a longer exposure. I prefer the whiter image, although a line where the card meets the board is clearly visible and quite distracting.

8 comments

  1. Hey 🙂 I like these photos – I like the reflections, particularly in the darker photo 🙂


    • Thank you, and thanks for stopping by. 🙂


  2. You did great on these shots. I like the darker one as the background seems seamless and there is a color pop (due to dark bg). Good work!


  3. Nice job, I see you have the black background and reflections all worked out. I am in the same boat as you with the white background, I can’t get rid of the seam and it annoys me…:)


  4. Personally, I love licorice everything!

    The shot has a nonuniformity to it that is consistent with the varying shapes/sizes of the candy. The reflection pops a little more with the black than the white. (I like the black background the best.)


  5. Thanks for all the comments on these, guys.. 🙂


  6. These are great! Personally, I prefer the black background, but they’re both really nice 🙂 Also – does this mean that you chose the 60mm macro over the 100mm after all?


    • Hi Miki. I did not! The 60 was lent to me by a friend. I just purchased the 100. Not really played with it as yet. Will do soon, hopefully.



Leave a Reply

