h1

The Droplet

July 20, 2010

Okay okay, it’s a little blurred but, it was one of the better images in my somewhat difficult shoot. Please feel free to advise me via the comments how I could improve this technique (no light triggers!). This is a photo of a water droplet (no surprise there) coming out of my tap. The set up for this was to put a large piece of white card behind the tap and then focus on the droplet with the 60mm macro lens. The problem here are as follows: 1) I couldn’t use a tripod for this as the lens was going to be too far from the subject. 😦 2) I wanted to take the photograph with the light off using the flash (regular built-in flash). So, to focus (with no light and no tripod, i.e. no pre-setup) I needed to use manual focus and keep firing the strobe to find and focus on the droplet. All hand held. With well over 100 photos, I got about 3 that I liked. I’ll post another one of these soon (I need to keep a backlog until I take more photos) πŸ˜€

8 comments

  1. I am not good at capturing the droplet – so no advice..sorry!
    I like this shot though – it has an abstract feel and I like the monochrome effect on this composition.


  2. Lol…….you’re a patient man. I keep telling myself, I need to try these but I have not as yet. I’ve read where some people use glycerine instead of water because it gives them more time to compose. Still needs patience though. Good job on the image though. Check out this blog that someone forwarded to me. There are some great shots and there’s also an embedded video tutorial. http://www.isyndica.com/blog/2010/3/8/11-beautiful-photos-of-water-drops.html


    • I have about 200 – 300 terrible photos and about 3 good ones out of all my droplet shots. Yeah, glycerine makes sense, I heard some people spray it onto leaves as well to give them that nice droplet effect. πŸ˜€ Thanks for the link, can’t get it working at work (we have some weird IP problems), will try it tonight at home.


  3. the trouble was worth it, I must say, this is excellent πŸ™‚
    and also, regarding your comment on my blog post, photoshop.com lets you do a colour pop. I replied to your comment, but sometimes I forget to click “notify me of followup comments” so here you go πŸ™‚


    • Hi. Thanks for the comment and the visit, and yes, I did forget to check the notify me option. πŸ™‚ Thanks for that. πŸ™‚


  4. Love the simplicity of this. Very nice.


  5. Yooo, I just added a shot of my first go around at Macro shooting, check it out…let me know what you think!
    …d

    http://photosbydavid.wordpress.com/2010/08/03/sunflower-or-is-it/



Leave a Reply

