h1

To Alice

July 16, 2010

This photo was taken on a cold and frosty day in Oxford. My wife had to attend a course over there and my mum was happy to have the children (two boys aged 2 and 4) so this was my first opportunity to really head out there with my SLR. So, I went to Oxford and wandered around. It was very, very cold and I discovered that fat gloves aren’t good for taking photographs, and bare hands get very cold, very quickly. So, as I went round I had to keep heading into the various beautiful churches that Oxford has to offer. They proved to be great points for photography. After wandering around for a while I decided to try to find Alice’s Shop, the shop where Alice Liddell (Alice in Wonderland) used to by sweets. I walked through some of the side roads and saw these scene. I decided to use the monochrome function on my camera (which, I’m sure is frowned upon), and, although some people don’t like it, I decided to blow it out a bit (in PP). I preferred the overly white look to the standard black and white, I liked the look. Hope you like it too. What I really love the most though is the fact that this cycle is just left there, and the owner has no fear that some scally will steal it. I hope his/her faith was rewarded. 🙂

10 comments

  1. I like the simplicity on this shot. It has wonderful texture on the tiles and nice perspective. The bike in this composition along with the couple of folks at the far end of the street adds a good depth to this shot.


    • Wow… until you said it, I never noticed those people! HA HA…. How strange. 🙂


  2. I actually like the image more when it is enlarged (lol that’s when you see the people). Has a nice peaceful feel about it. The bike left outside gives a sense of safety and community. Nice.


    • Thanks 🙂 Still don’t know how I never noticed those people there!


  3. Very nice. I didn’t notice the people either – good spot. Did you shoot it in RAW, can you recover some of the highlights then pull apart the contrast a little?


    • Hey Brhum. No, I shot it straight in monochrome in jpeg.


      • Don’t let me catch you doing that again.

        There’s a million and one different ways to convert from colour to b&w – why let the camera do it one way and only one way. Shoot in colour – convert to B&W and tweak to your heart’s content.

        Or I’ll tell the ‘veeno.


      • You’ll be very pleased to know that last night’s shot was taken in RAW! 🙂


  4. lovely.


  5. Hey Naj. 🙂 I’ll give it a go tomorrow. 🙂 Thanks.



Leave a Reply

