h1

Pencils

July 15, 2010

This photo was taken when I borrowed a macro lens from a friend a few months ago. I wanted to create a photograph to satisfy the theme, colour, and for me, coloured pencils would suit the theme and give me an opportunity to try a macro shot. So yes, this was my first macro shot that I worked on (not the first out of the camera of course!). The first one is my favourite, but I’m fond of the other three as well. The photo was taken with a Canon EOS450D, a Canon 60mm Macro Lens. I used a sheet of thick black card from HobbyCraft underneath it, and just the regular built-in flash. In case you’re wondering, Microsoft gave me these pencils free for watching a demonstration of Office 2007 (in 2010!), they’ve never been written with and they’re still in pristine condition. ๐Ÿ˜€

๏ปฟ

12 comments

  1. Beauty pics.


  2. Nice images, first one is the best. By the way are their pencils better than their software.


    • Not sure Geoff, never tried the pencils ๐Ÿ˜‰


  3. Macro photography is fun, isn’t it?

    I have a Nikkor 60mm 1:1 macro and I have to admit – this lens definitely helped me understand lighting in photography.

    I like the 3rd one the best – like the perspective on this shot. Second shot is a tad bit overexposed.

    Nice work with macro shots.


    • Hi Sasi. Yeah, it is fun. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m counting down the days until I buy my own macro lens (next month). Planning to get a Canon 100mm lens.

      I never noticed that the second one was overexposed until you said it, and you’re right, it really is! ๐Ÿ™‚


  4. I like the colors in these shots. I also enjoy doing black backgrounds. I just love how stuff looks like they’re suspended in mid-air, when the background pretty much disappears. I’m guessing you were not going for that “suspended” look, because you’re still allowing the surface to be seen, but I’m definitely liking the color contrast here.


  5. I love the macro lens. It lets you see all the grains in the wood. Lovely!


  6. I love color pencils. They are so fun to draw with. I like the composition and exposure of the last photo. You can see all of the colors and details clearly. Look forward to seeing more macros…


    • I just realised that it’s almost the 21st, macro purchase day ๐Ÿ™‚



Leave a Reply

