h1

Early Riser

July 14, 2010

I thought I should post the original of the photo that is currently display at the top of the page. It was taken at a local park one very early Saturday morning. I’d been wanting to head out to capture the sunrise and the previous few days it had been looking stunning. My youngest son got up bright and early so, I was awake bright and early. Surprisingly, he let me head out to the park without crying and making me take him so, I got that rare thing, time alone! I drove down to the park but hadn’t already figured out where I wanted to be. Anyway, by the time I got to the park I realised that I wasn’t going to have time to get myself into any position to capture a sunrise. So, I figured, what the heck, I’ll take a walk around the park. Although the day turned out to be incredibly warm and sunny, the morning was incredibly frosty and foggy. Perfect conditions for a lake photo! This is one of my favourite photographs, I like the lone duck and the fog that was sitting nicely on the lake. You can now see that the banner photo was squished (which I kind of prefer) rather than cropped.

9 comments

  1. Nice composition on this shot. Love the reflection of the duck and the warm feel in this shot.


    • Thank you. I look forward to seeing more of your daily photos, they’re very impressive and inspiring.!


  2. Beautiful shot… I like the color and composition a lot. It makes feel like I am there enjoying the tranquility of the lake.


  3. I love this shot. So peaceful! I hope to get more time to get shots like this as well!


  4. Absolutely gorgeous!


  5. Oooerrr, I like! I totally understand the time alone having three kids myself. 🙂

    …d


    • Yeah, it’s a tough one feeling like O should be with them all weekend but wanting to do stuff like this as well.


  6. Beautiful shot. Love the mood, the light, and the silhouette of the duck.



Leave a Reply

