h1

Droplet

July 12, 2010

Although this looks like a macro photo, from what I remember, it was taken with a regular canon lens, my 18-130 I think. My friend, Christos gave me the technique for this. Basically, I place my favourite pasta bowl (a lovely bowl from Pier One by the sink and filled it with water. I then set the tap so that it steadily dropped droplets of water and set up the lens to catch the droplet as it hit the surface of the water. After that I turned off the light and kept trying to click to the rhythm of the falling (rain) droplet with my built in flash. I was lucky enough to catch this one. 🙂 I changed the tone of the image slightly to give it a bit more blue and that’s about it.

8 comments

  1. That’s a great shot! Thanks for the tipon how it was created.


  2. Very Cool! I think I’ll try this and I might even “accidentally” drop my camera in the bowl so I can upgrade. No not really, but I did think about it for a millisecond.


  3. Beautiful…always loved shots of water, even though it’s rather tricky to work with…


  4. photographyfree4all – Thanks 🙂

    seeker312 – Yeah.. last time I worked with water I got a pretty wet lens!

    Jan – Which may be good for you, if you wish to accidentally ‘upgrade’. 🙂


  5. wow, amazing shot


  6. Nice shot, I am going to have to try this!

    …d


  7. Wow. This is very well done. Love it.



Leave a Reply

