h1

Hooked on Canon

July 2, 2010

A Β year ago I purchased a Canon EOS 450D. I was adamant at the time that one lens was enough. I was so wrong about that. I own two lenses now, Canon 18-135 and Canon 55-250. I’m just about to purchase a macro lens and am debating about which one to go for. Then I want to get an ultra wide lens, and I’m thinking, I need a good flash as well now. I don’t sell pictures, I’m very much an amateur.

What I have learnt in this past year is, buying a camera is (presumably) equivalent to taking drugs. Once you have one, you want to buy and consume more and more. It’s an addiction and there’s always something more to buy for it.

14 comments

  1. Lol-you’re right it’s like drugs.


  2. I have a 450D too, also bought a year ago! I love it πŸ™‚ but, being a student, I’ve had to restrain my lens-buying impulses a bit. I have the 55-250mm, an 18-55mm, and a 60mm f/2.8 USM macro lens (all Canon brand). I would definitely recommend the 60mm if you’re on the lookout for a macro – ever since I got it, it’s hardly been off my camera. It’s a real beauty, and the USM makes focusing so smooth and quiet. If you get it, you won’t regret it πŸ™‚ I certainly didn’t, even though it’s my most expensive lens to date. Still cheaper than the wide-angle I’m lusting after, though!


    • Hi Miki, thanks for visiting. I was going to buy a 60mm Canon macro but I’m now lusting after the 100mm. I want to get close and personal with bees but not too close πŸ™‚


      • Haha, well the 100mm is also a great choice, I know someone who has it and they’re very happy πŸ™‚ unfortunately, my budget didn’t stretch quite that far, but I mostly use my macro lens for still-life work so focal length is not such an issue. Good luck with those bees!


  3. Addiction? Could be!

    Not too sure how far I will go, but already the kit lens isn’t enough for me.


    • Hi Gordon, yeah I found that as well. Was happy, then went to my son’s school play in a smallish room and found the zoom was nowhere near enough. In hindsight the kit purchase was waste but, there you go πŸ™‚ Let mr know what you purchase, it’ll be interesting to find out.


  4. yip … once hooked, there’s no going back!! lol … I dabbled a little in photography for about 2 years before I decided to get “serious” with a Canon EOS 450D … – that’s 2 years ago and now I’m so hooked I’ve turned photography into my full-time career !!! BLISS!! πŸ˜‰


    • That’s awesome. What do you do, studio work, magazine work, books? How is it going for you?


      • I’ve done a bit of wedding work, corporate events, some family portrait work … all whilst actually full time employed in the city – I’m now launching myself into the full-time arena by contracting to the cruise ships. That’ll be a lot of formal portrait work, some weddings, and whatever else I can get along the travels πŸ™‚
        I agree with your notion re the kit lens – I worked with it for sooooo long, but once I started getting additional lenses I realised that the kit is officially “retired” & had I known a little more before buying I would have bought body only and selected a different lens to go. But so be it – we live & learn πŸ˜‰


  5. A buddy of mine (a musician) recently introduced me to a rather appropriate term: the “official” name for this condition is “Gear Acquisition Syndrome,” and apparently, none of us is immune to it. Least of all me (if I were to start listing all the cameras and accessories I have, we’d be here all night).

    Of course, this is not entirely a bad thing, either. If one equates one’s cameras to tools (and in many respects, they are just that), then it is only logical that we acquire the right tools for the right jobs (also not going to list how many actual tools I have…or again, we’ll be here all night). Certain tools can perform multiple tasks, while others can only do one or two things, but better than any other multi-tasking tools. The same applies to lenses and accessories; certain lenses are of the do-it-all type, whilst others are more specialized. One of the reasons I have so many lenses is that I like the results that the specialized lenses provide…but there certainly are good reasons to pick the former type, as well.


    • Ahhhh! So I CAN justify my current ‘need’ for an Apple MacBook.. it’s a tool for me to develop Apps, or at least, it’s meant to be πŸ˜‰


  6. Oh man, I so know what you mean! We were at a baseball came not that long ago and this (lady) photography walked past with a BEAUTIFUL canon zoom and of course, I turned my head to watch and my partner (she SO rocks and understand me a little too well perhaps) looks at me and said “you were lusting after the lens not the girl weren’t you!!” Yea, she was so right!

    …d


    • Ha ha… now that’s funny! πŸ˜€


      • And of course I meant photographer not y! Ha, see what I get for posting during my lunch?



Leave a Reply

