h1

Death and the Status Message

July 1, 2010

Death and Facebook

I’ve noticed this strange trend amongst some of my facebook friends. As soon as someone dies, I know they will inform me via Facebook, which is good; it’s not like we have 24 hour rolling news coverage or an international network of computers linked together which could provide me with such information. I wonder how their minds work…

SKY NEWS – Heath Ledger dies.

HOLY COW! Heath Ledger’s dead? Bloody hell, I better update my status message!

“DAMN! Heath Ledger just died. RIP Heath…you’re not forgotten”

(Woo… first with that status message… kudos to me!)

SKY NEWS – Michael Jackson dead.

HOLY COW! Mike J’s dead? I’d better update my status message.

“DAMN! Michael Jackson just died, RIP Michael…you’re not forgotten”

(Woo… first with that status message… kudos to me!)

SKY NEWS – Brittany Murphy dead.

HOLY COW! Brittany Murphy’s dead? I’d better update my status message.

“DAMN! Brittany Murphy just died, RIP Brittany…you’re not forgotten”

(Woo… first again… kudos to me!)

AND.. in Heaven do those celebs gone before look down fondly on our status messages?

Hey Heath, come look at this, that dude just said “I’m not forgotten”, that’s so awesome.

Leave a Reply

